Val Venosta - the magic of diversity, unique views, innumerable natural beauties, old traditions and exciting stories.
A special country with special people. From glaciers to crystal-clear lakes; Vines and fruit in abundance - the Val Venosta ranges between 400 and 4,000 meters above sea level and offers a wealth of experiences to discover.
MOVEMENT & NATURE
The natural landscape in Val Venosta is diverse. It is ideal with the imposing mountain ranges for a unique and varied active holiday.
With over 300 sunny days a year, exercise is twice - fun in summer and winter.
ARTS & CULTURE
Discover the historical traces left over the centuries. The cultural offer is varied: from valuable monuments to world-famous Marble mining areas and many more, connected by the Via Claudia Augusta - the emporer road over the Alps which was built and expanded by the Romans.
REGION OF ENJOYMENT
The valley is known for the production and processing of unadulterated foods by a very special microclimate, lots of sun, wind and little rainfall. They are still offered today directly from the farm.
The Ortler area is rich in things to see and do
Resia Reservoir with the Alt-Graun church tower:
Alt-Graun was sacrificed to the Resia Reservoir in 1950. The church tower, which still stands half out of the water, perhaps the best-known photo image of the Vinschgau Valley, is today the only remaining sign of the village that yielded to progress.
Glorenza - the smallest town in Europe:
The unique Glorenza has a completely preserved town wall with circular corner towers, arcades, town gates and battlements. Experience the special character of this jewel of the Vinschgau Valley with its many picturesque alleys, nooks and crannies. Sample the rural life, culture and pure romance!
The Churburg in Sluderno:
Churburg castle is one of the best-preserved castle complexes in South Tyrol and is a magnificent monument to the Renaissance. It was built between 1253 and 1259 by Bishop Heinrich of Montfort of Chur, came under the ownership of the Counts of Mazia fifty years later, and then, after their line died out in 1504, passed to the Counts of Trapp, who still occupy it today as a summer residence.
Marienberg Monastery in Burgusio:
The monastery was built by the Count of Tarasp in 1146. The first five Abbots came from Ottobeuren; the monastery was dissolved from 1807 to 1816 during the Bavarian secularisation and reacquired in 1816. The first monks came from the monastery at Ottobeuren in Swabia. Under them, Marienberg became a religious and German-speaking centre in the Rhaeto-Romanic surrounding area. The main gateway and frescoes in the crypt are both redolent of the time that the monastery was founded during the Romance period. They are artistic monuments of Europe-wide importance.